Hey Everyone… we need to catch up

Hey Everyone… we need to catch up

Not in the sense of like, “hey I haven’t seen you in ages and we need to catch up,” even though that is probably the case. Nah, I mean like, “hey I’ve been super slack with writing, and too busy enjoying myself in cool places to bother putting pen to paper (or finger to keyboard) and I really need to catch up with that stuff”.

I don’t want you guys to feel like you’ve been ‘missing out’ or ‘going without’ because I haven’t been writing anything lately. I’ve recently experienced these sensations of ‘going without’ and feeling like I’m ‘missing out’ and I haven’t enjoyed it all that much.

You see, excess consumption over the last few months (or years) has led me down the path of going without. Going without alcohol, that is. I cut it out. 11 Days now. What that means is that instead of waking up without memories I wake up without a hangover. Unfortunately, I’m so used to going to bed intoxicated that going without alcohol also means that I am going without sleep. Waking up without hangover, without sleep, goes without benefits. Without a doubt there are benefits of going without, that goes without saying, but when out and about and going without I find myself without a clue of what to do.

What’s that about? And when going without, why do I feel like I’m missing out?

Going without makes me feel like I’m missing out on going out. I miss out on going out whilst going without because I don’t feel like going out without. I’d rather just give it a miss. I’m slowly finding out that going without is hard. Sure, I can cure this with hard liquor, but then that might blowout and I might blackout… and that’d just be a copout. Plus, I might then find out that I was not in fact missing out on anything whilst going without. I may even begin to miss missing out and going without!

Suffice to say I started to freak out. But now’s not the time to freak out. Now it the time to push on without a backwards glance, without batting an eye, without missing a beat. For there is no pleasure without pain, no rose without thorn, no omelet is made without cracking a few eggs.

Alcohol is something that I can live without.

But then you might say, ‘hey mister, we miss hearing about you going out and how about you fill us in on what you’ve been up to?”

And to that I would reply, ‘sure’.

It is quite possible that I’ve lost the plot entirely since taking a break from the booze, evident in the incomprehensible ramblings above, but at least I am motivated enough to start writing again, and boy do I have a lot of catching up to do…

Don’t worry, I’ll be back on the sauce again in no time and back to normal. Watch this space and you will hear all about what I’ve been up to over the last few months.

By the time you read this I’ll probably be drunk.

TLH

X

1 comment
  1. Claire said:

    Well done Hughsey!! Doin a bit o that myself lately, the missing out, but unlike my drinking I do my quitting in moderation.. Not nearly disciplined enough! Keep it up kiddo, ur body will love u! Glad to hear ur back on the grid, lookin forward to the next instalment! Xx

Leave a Reply

